I was raised by a pianist and I grew up a pianist with all these piano lessons and recitals. The piano itself has always been my best friend. In times when I felt alone or in times when I felt glad for something, I turned to the piano. It has always been one of the greatest gifts God has ever blessed me with. And, as of the moment, I’m also a piano teacher. So I cannot explain how that instrument has influenced me throughout my whole life. I’ve always been in love with the greats specifically Beethoven. Fur Elise was one of the first classical songs that I hammered into my head. I literally did not stop practicing it until it was engraved onto my memory and my hands. The second song by Beethoven’s that I fell in love with was Moonlight sonata that has always been such a mystery for me, and that was the only song that could bring the character of Gregory out from the depths of my soul and the tips of my fingers.

Moonlight Sonata starts with this slow haunting tempo, and Gregory’s development in the story is – for me – rather slow as he keeps holding himself back. He is tortured by his own memories, and he is suffering from his own ghosts as he could not – no matter how hard he tries – let go of the past. And, no matter how beautiful the first movement of Moonlight Sonata is, it drags you into the depths of this lake where the reflection of a moonlight keeps you underneath the water. The moon has you trapped. It is, truly, a very haunting melody. And that is Gregory. His memories with his mother and grandfather are so beautiful he could not let it go, and then he has his memories from the days he lived with his father that are so tragic and lonesome that he could not let go of as well. The past has him trapped in this fading waltz.

Then the second movement of Moonlight Sonata comes in. It’s an enchanting tune to hear. It makes your soul want to dance as it brings you to this grand palace covered in gold where the people are dressed in the finest silk as the best musicians of the world entice you to dance to their music. It’s joy, complete and utterly beautiful joy of the royal and noble kind belonging to the people worthy of its touch. And that’s what Gregory feels in the palace in Benfield. He feels blessed, and he is in this continuous dance that he does not want to end. He is – as what he believes – finally happy. Even if the past still weighs him down to the bottom of that gorgeous lake guarded by moonlight, he can still dance to the music of the piano.

The third movement comes rushing in. It’s frantic. It’s intense. The notes run in an unbelievable speed that you are captured by its movement yet at the same time you are having such difficulty in keeping up with its pace. The notes go and go and go and go and go and go. It’s a thrill. You can’t stop. You have to move. You have to dance. You have to run. The notes entrance you again in a manner so different from the first and second movement that it’s brilliant. And this is what Gregory goes through in the 2nd book which is to be released either later this year or some time next year. In that book, Gregory is being forced to run, go after the notes and capture them with such precision that no wrong move can be done. Here, he is still dancing in the bottom of the lake as the moonlight keeps guard, but he is drowning. He has to swim to the surface whilst still dancing. He has to escape the moonlight. He has to survive.

beethoven

(Ludwig Van Beethoven)

Beethoven will always be my favorite musician, and the Moonlight Sonata will always be adored. My adoration in it has bloomed in Gregory. Most of my readers also don’t find Gregory as fascinating as Claude, but, I promise you, when Gregory starts to drown in the third movement, you’ll drown with him. *Cue evil laughter* BWAHAHHAHAHA

😀

 

 

You can get the book at Amazon! Just click the image/link below

 

 

To message me, you can send a message  thru the FB page:

https://www.facebook.com/revengeonroyalty/

 

Toodles!

Cheers!

Mwah!

-Val (Valerie Vibar)

 

